Skip to content

Blogher Book Club Review: My Life Map

November 15, 2012

This is a paid review for Blogher Book Club, however, all thoughts and opinions are my very own. Not a robot’s. Or someone posing else posing as me. (That would be weird.)

When I first saw the summary of My Life Map I initially thought to pass on this review because self-help books really aren’t my cup of tea. I can only look deep within my soul for so long before I’m like, “Hey, me, let’s go get a cheeseburger… This soul searching is for the birds.”  But then because of the crazy gal that I am I decided to review this one. Turns out? It was an excellent choice.

The book is definitely more of a journal as it has large portions of most pages saved for writing. The book asks questions about your past as well as where you see yourself going. However, it does so in a way that doesn’t come across as overwhelming. The creation of the life map takes place in increments that are broken down so that you’re looking at tiny sections of your goals or past occurrences.  In order to place together the big picture, you have to get all the pieces in line first.

The book gives four examples of fictional characters’ life maps. This allows the reader to get a general idea of how a completed life map looks, but honestly they’re not needed. The instructions for how to create your own life map are so easy to follow that I didn’t find myself referring to them once I started filling out the book. If anything, it was just interesting to see these characters’ choices and goals.

Now, will I ever actually pin my life map up somewhere so that I can draw inspiration from it? Probably not. I’m not a person who usually does such things. I’m not a big journal-writer, nor do I need visual things for inspiration. But! That’s not to say that this exercise was a total waste of my time. It wasn’t! In fact, it did let me realize the things I needed to put a couple of small goals into motion so that’s a plus.

Overall, this book was great for what it was. Would I have ever picked it up in the store? No, but that’s only because self-help books usually make me roll my eyes, so blame me and my judgy-ness. If you’re interested in talking more about My Life Map come join us at Blogher to discuss!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

