Skip to content

Trust Your Eyes

September 6, 2012

This is a paid review for Blogher Book Club, however, all thoughts and opinions are my very own. Not a robot’s. Or someone posing else posing as me. (That would be weird.)

For a while Sarah has been telling me I should sign up for Blogher’s Book Club because I read so much so why not get free books and a little bit of moolah thrown my way to review the books I read? I saw absolutely nothing wrong with this plan except for my laziness which is why it took me so long to sign up to do it. However! Now that I’ve done it… SARAH. You really need to put a little more pressure on me for these sorts of things.

Anyways, for this review I read Linwood Barclay’s “Trust Your Eyes,” a murder mystery/suspense/thriller. If I’d just skimmed the jacket of this book in store I’m almost positive I would have gone right past it because for some reason, in the past five or six years, I’ve convinced myself I only like cheesy young adult fiction and/or the occasional zombie apocalypse story. I should be ashamed of myself because I do like murder mystery/suspense/thrillers!

This story weaves the tale of Ray Kilbride, who’s father has just passed away in a seemingly innocent accident, so he travels back to his hometown to take care of his brother, Thomas, who suffers from Schizophrenia. Thomas has an obsession with maps and spends the majority of his day memorizing the maps of the world via a computer program called Whirl 360. Thomas scours the street views of different cities (think Google Earth) while memorizing the tiniest of details. That’s all fine and well, except for when Thomas believes he’s witnessed a snapshot of a murder in one of the building windows on a NYC map.

Obviously, Ray is having a hard time believing what Thomas says is true (schizophrenia does tend to discredit one’s murder accusations…) and to top it off, the pieces of the puzzle that are his father’s death just aren’t fitting together the way they should. Once Ray gives into Thomas’ pleas to at least investigate the snapshot a little, Barclay takes both Thomas and Ray as well as the readers on a suspenseful thrill ride filled with twists and turns until the very last word.

In the line of suspense thrillers, Barclay really pulls this one off. It’s an easy read and every chapter leaves you wanting just a little bit more. I’m excited to talk more about this book so come over and chat it up!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

