Skip to content

Robots & The Trouble They Pose

May 17, 2012

Once upon a time, a million years ago, I rode to school with Sarah’s husband Nick. Parking on UK’s campus was a nightmare and pretty much a battle royale for the best parking passes. I don’t remember what the circumstances were but somehow Nick scored a sweet pass and I must have mooched off him and hitched a ride in his little red truck. Anyways, the point is: I rode to school with Nick and on that 10 minute drive to campus one day I asked him a simple question.

“Nick, what would you do if you found out I was a robot?”

Nick, being a mad scientist* didn’t miss a beat and said, “I’d have to destroy you.”

At the time, I remember being slightly peeved at the fact that my friend so callously told me he’d take no time in taking me out. Just the way things were. Like I imagined he would have a To Do List and it would read something like,

1. Find out Whitney’s a robot.

2. Destroy her accordingly.

3. Dust hands off.

4. Go on with day.

So, back in 2001, I probably hopped out of the truck and was all, “Fine. See ya later, friend,” brooding about it the rest of the day. Now, you would THINK I would have forgotten this story being that it happened over ten years ago, but NO. Every time I hear about a robot or see a cyborg in a movie I always automatically think, “Man, if that was me, Nick would come along and just put an end to my existence…”

And then, the other day, Christina posted this on my Facebook wall:

Dammit. Nick totally knew what he was talking about.

*Nick is not really a mad scientist. He is, however, a scientist, so I like to imagine him being of the Doc Brown variety.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

