Skip to content

Mad Men, Summer Vacations, Babies and Booze. (Not Necessarily In That Order.)

January 31, 2012

I got sick this past weekend. My minor headache evolved into a fever and sore throat by Friday night, knocking me onto the couch for the majority of the weekend. It wasn’t bad. I got some things done. (And by things done I mean watched an entire season of Mad Men but I call that productive.)

Rocky approved of my decision to not get out of my pajamas for 48 hours straight:

*************************************************************************************

I dropped a pound today. It might have been water weight. It might have been me taking my calorie intake down. I have no idea what it was but it made my day a teensy bit better. Since I was sick today’s the first weekday in 4 weeks I haven’t gotten up at 5a to do some sort of work out. I’ll have to do it when I get home which sucks, but I’ll manage.

*************************************************************************************

My brother and his wife are having a baby any day now and since he threatened to never speak to me again if I wasn’t there for the birth I’ve been ready to go at a moment’s notice for the past week. My only request so far was to not have the baby on the 10th because my friend, Erin, is having her birthday party that night and it’ll be fun… I am a selfish aunt/sister/SIL and I’m ok with it.

*************************************************************************************

We are in the process of planning our 2012 summer vacation. There’s a pretty big group of us (with kids) wanting to go so it’s like figuring out a frickin’ Rubix Cube to get everything all worked out so everyone can go. Throw in my mom being annoyed with me because I’m not going on vacation with her and my grandma and it’s turned into one dramatic, stress-filled issue. My mom’s suggestion is to just let her take Evie for one week to the beach and then Evie can go back to the beach with me. I know she thinks I’m being selfish or possibly just being a brat, but I’m not. I don’t want to be apart from Evie for a week. I worry about Evie when I’m not with her and throw in ten hours of (my mom’s) driving and Evie being in the ocean all week and I’ll be lucky to not overdose on Xanax while the child is gone. SO toss that whole thing in with the fact that my brother and his wife are probably coming on vacation with me and my mom is just a ticking time bomb, ready to explode at any second. Ahhh, welcome to my life.

*************************************************************************************

Can we go back to my Mad Men obsession? Now, I get it. I’m 5 years late to the party. But still… I am so addicted to this show. I want nothing to do with any other show right now and I’m seriously not lying when I say I burned through all of season one in a little over a day. I have so many questions… When is Betty going to snap?! WHY doesn’t she question Don’s late nights?! Why was everyone hot for Peggy when she first started working at the company? (Because all I could focus on were her terrible, terrible bangs.) Why was Peggy hot for gross Pete Campbell?! Why is Joan such a smug bitch?! I admit, I am way more intrigued by the women in this show and could possible do an entire post on it but I felt like everyone else would be all, “Whitney… step into 2012,” so I did not.

So, from watching Mad Men I’ve learned that a) every single person in the 60s smoked about 2 packs a day. This includes pregnant women and possibly children… b) No one cared if you were married and offices in the 60s, despite not being the least bit soundproof, were the perfect place to carry on your extramarital affairs and finally, c) it was perfectly acceptable to be boozing it up in your office by noon. In fact, it was encouraged.

I plan on bringing a bottle of bourbon in to work sometime this week, with a decanter and glasses, and I will let you all know how it goes.

(You guys should probably start helping me look for jobs…)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

