Skip to content

Frustrated

January 30, 2012

I try really hard to complain very little on this blog. If I ever seem like I’m complaining I promise you I’m only doing it for humor’s sake. HOWEVER. I am so very annoyed right now. I’ve been blessed with height and decent genes. I’ve never had to work very hard to stay on the skinnier side although I was never once under the illusion that I would be that lucky forever. I know that having a baby changes things, getting older changes things… I was aware that eventually I’d have to start putting forth some effort.

I lose weight if I’m super stressed or super excited. When Mike and I started dating I had just gotten out of a terrible relationship so combine that with the excitement of dating someone new and I lost a decent amount of weight. You know how that goes. It’s new, it’s exciting, you’re too busy being excited about things to eat. That’s exactly what happened. But then, as things settled down and Mike and I got into a routine, especially with him moving in, there were more home cooked meals every night and less, let’s go out and party when we don’t have Evie. We got comfortable. It happens to the best of us. Both of us gained weight. There were a few attempts at, “Hey, we should maybe try to lose some weight…” but then we’d find a movie on tv we wanted to watch and decided “Oh I know! Let’s make a giant, cheesy pasta dish to go with this movie we’re about to watch!” and that’s how we gained about 20 pounds.

I granted myself some leeway through the holidays because if you’ve ever tasted my grandma’s homemade candy, you would understand that there is no resisting it. You just give in and accept the five pounds per bite you will gain directly to your ass and thighs. But after New Years, we got down to business. Mike’s sister was giving her treadmill away so we gladly told her we’d take it off her hands. It looks hideous but I will take one for the team of Looking Hot for Summer 2012.

I’ve been getting up every day (Monday-Friday) at 5am and running (well… walking briskly because the treadmill skips and you have to hold on with both hands if you want to run so I compromised and cranked up the incline to about 6 or 7 while walking at about 3.5mph.) I went to the grocery and gave our entire kitchen an overhaul with nothing but fresh fruits and vegetables, brown rice, chicken, fish, whole grain, whole wheat. I’ve done INSANELY well about sticking to healthy eating habits with only a minor slip up here and there. (Seriously, it’s happened like twice.)

I’m still really motivated. So much so that I decided that cardio wasn’t cutting it and decided to add in Jillian Michaels’ “30 Day Shred” work out every other day. Do you know how annoying Jillian Michaels is at 5:00 in the morning? DO YOU? But I’ve done it. I’ve only taken off on the weekends but that’s only with exercise. I’ve stuck to my calorie intake that was designated by myfitnesspal.com. To lose 1lb a week based on my height and weight, my calorie intake was at 1500 calories. I’ve been under my calorie goal almost every day!

I have not lost a POUND. Not one. We are going on week four. I weighed myself today and you all…. I GAINED A POUND.

I don’t understand.

I know that the scale is terrible and you should judge by inches and not the numbers on the scale but SOMETHING has got to give. I honestly don’t know what to do! I have gone from basically little to no exercise to getting up five days a week and doing something! Weights and cardio! But my clothes don’t really feel any looser and the scale hates me.

Am I doing something wrong?

Do I need to get some blood work done?

Am I just going to keep getting fatter because that’s what it feels like.

I’m not going to quit but sheesh… I’m not saying there weren’t tears at the scale this morning either.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 9:29 am

    Muscle weighs more than fat?
    I don’t know…
    I read somewhere that it takes 3 months of running/cardio before your body will start to look/feel different.
    I’m stuck in the same rut—doing all the right things but apparently my body just WANTS to be this size now. Meanwhile John lost 10 pounds in one week, just by cutting back on his junk food. SERIOUSLY. NOT. FAIR.

  2. January 30, 2012 9:29 am

    I’ve always heard you have to eat ALL of your allowed calories per day or you won’t lose! Oh and there is also the annoying truth that “muscle weighs more than fat” so maybe it’s that too. I’m sure you look great!!

  3. January 30, 2012 9:30 am

    Michael could eat an entire pizza every night and then MAYBE walk for 15 minutes on the treadmill and lose about 20lbs. It is 100% not fair.

  4. January 30, 2012 9:33 am

    Oh sister! I am WITH YOU! I’ve always had a great metabolism, I never had to work for a nice body…until now. Two kids later, I’m about to turn 30, and there is an extra 10 lbs that seemingly has surgically implanted itself onto my thighs. Ugh! I started getting up at 5am to torture myself with Jillian on December 28. Want to know how much I lost? ZERO! Not even an OUNCE! NOTHING! 30-day shred my ass!!! I do it every single day (I’ve taken off a Saturday here and there but otherwise, every single day!) I will admit, I am starting to get sculpted, muscles are definitely getting harder and OMG I have abs! But it is really freaking depressing that I have not even lost an ounce.

    I’m trying to convince myself that all the fat is turning into muscle…and as everyone knows, muscle weighs more than fat!

    • January 30, 2012 11:01 am

      Good job! At least you’re seeing muscle. I’m not seeing anything change… So freaking frustrating!

  5. Becca permalink
    January 30, 2012 10:09 am

    I’m in the same boat you are. I just started running a few weeks ago and nothing so far. I’m re-starting weight watchers this week along with the exercise so I’m hoping for a change. WW is the only thing for me that’s worked. Good luck and keep us posted!

    • January 30, 2012 11:02 am

      WW used to stress me out so much with the points but I may try it again. I’ve got to do SOMETHING! Ugh.

  6. Lydia permalink
    January 30, 2012 3:56 pm

    Muscle doesn’t weigh more than fat. A pound is a pound. However, muscle is more dense than fat, so if you are gaining muscle mass but burning fat, that is where you should see the results in the way of inches and your body reshaping. As you tear down your muscles, they also tend to retain water to help in cellular repair – so you may still be burning fat but retaining more water than normal.

    Are you drinking lots of water? I always find that helps.

    Are you sleeping enough at night? Your body needs adequate rest to function properly.

    Also, be sure that you’re logging every single little thing at MyFitnessPal (what’s your name, there? I’d love to be your friend on that site!).

    Do you have a heart rate monitor? I find that cardio machines and even the estimator at MFP is always pretty off from what my HRM records as calories burned. Machines tend to consistently over-estimate the calories burned.

    I’d also suggest that you not try to stay too far under your net calorie goal. Try eating right up to it for a few weeks. If things aren’t improving, then, maybe you need to experiment with different calorie points until you find one that works.

    Other than that, my only advice is to just keep doing what you’re doing. Do you feel better? Do you have more energy? Are you totally proud of yourself for kicking ass in the kitchen and on the treadmill? If all those answers are a “yes,” then I’d say that if you keep on keepin’ on, you’ll see results. If you don’t in a few months, that’s when I’d go get some tests, maybe.

  7. January 30, 2012 4:10 pm

    Ohh do I ever feel your pain. Same boat here. Except I’m losing … then taking a “cheat day” after 21 days of NO CHEATS … and gained 6 pounds in one day. SIX. Have you read my blog lately ??? I’m been on the complainy side as well. It is VERY frustrating.

  8. January 30, 2012 4:11 pm

    And I have NO idea why my last comment showed my name as “Girl.” Weird. I mean … I AM a girl … but …. yeah.

Leave a Reply

