Skip to content

My Love for YA Fiction Doesn’t Seem To Be Going Anywhere.

January 6, 2012

I’m constantly on the look for something new to read. You would think with my love for YA my standards wouldn’t be so high, but you would be wrong. I don’t like just any run-of-the-mill YA novel! Besides, you all know I LOATHE the Twilight series. My YA can’t be TOO cheesy or sappy. If you’ve got people giving longing looks to one another throughout the duration of the book you will NEVER get me to enjoy it. It’s just not possible.

(Nobody stares longingly at each other in real life!)

Anyways, I picked up two new books this week at my trusty ol’ library.The first one I’m reading is this:

It’s categorized as science fiction… And yeah, it’s in the future and it’s sort of about video games, but you guys… The pop culture references! I understand that may not be enough to drive some people to actually read this book but it had me from the Ghostbusters reference on the first page. It’s set in 2045 and the world isn’t looking so hot. However, people do have an escape. It’s a virtual world called OASIS which was created by this guy (now billionaire) named Halliday. Halliday was an 80s fanatic since that’s when he was a teenager so he’s obsessed with all things 80s. But, bad news, kids. Halliday bites the dust. But! Not before sending out a worldwide announcement telling everyone that he’s hidden an Easter egg somewhere in OASIS (which is made up of thousands and thousands of different worlds) and that whoever finds it? They get his entire inheritance… Yeah, no biggie. But then… Wade, a really smart kid with a really rough life, finds a clue. From then on out, game on. When you’re talking billions of dollars it’s not necessarily that big of a deal to take out an 18 year old kid in a world that’s pretty much gone to hell in a handbasket, right? Well, let’s hope for Wade’s sake he can outsmart everyone else.

Anyways, I’m only about 75 pages in but so far so good. I’ll keep you updated and I’ll let you know when I start the second one.

Happy Friday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 3:17 pm

    Ooh! Sounds good. I’m almost done re-reading Hunger Games, so I’ll have to look for it.

  2. jstylee90 permalink
    January 8, 2012 11:11 pm

    You realize you’re like one step away from being a giant nerd, right?

  3. jstylee90 permalink
    January 8, 2012 11:12 pm

    fyi – jstylee is incognito for emep

  4. Britt permalink
    January 18, 2012 11:38 am

    I’ll definitely have to look into this one.

Leave a Reply

