Skip to content

Let’s Party Like It’s 2012!

January 5, 2012

That title has nothing to do with this post. (I’ve REALLY got to get better about coming up with titles… Maybe that should be one of my resolutions.) With all the hoopla about the world ending in December, I feel like it’s appropriate. (I do not believe such nonsense, by the way. Has anyone asked Harold Camping how HE feels about the Mayans’ prediction??) Anyways, let’s a have a look at how things have been since the last time I posted, shall we?

Christmas was fantastic.  Some of the stuff I got:

1) The watch was Evie’s gift to me. She’s such a girl and almost everything she picks out for anyone is pink. Last year it was pink bunny slippers, this year a pink watch. All the bling on it makes me smile and she checks to make sure I’m wearing it every day. I tried to find a link to it and I can’t, but I’m 99% sure she got it at Kohl’s. My child has an unnatural love for the store…

2) Ah! The ring I’ve been wanting! Mike asked me to give him a list of jewelry I liked and this was on the list. It’s small, it’s dainty, and it’s not like it’s covered in diamonds. Mike got it engraved on the inside as well. Perfect for every day wear!

3) He also picked me up a jacket too. (He did good, didn’t he?!) I don’t have a very casual coat so this is perfect for UK gameday clothes, I think. Chilly while tailgating? Not anymore.

4) Ok, so NO he did not get me a Burberry scarf. (Those things are like $400! Who spends that kind of money on a piece of fabric?!) But he got me a knockoff. Our favorite part is how it says, “100% Cashmere FEEL.” So they’re saying it 100% feels like cashmere? Isn’t that a little subjective? What if *I* don’t think it feels like cashmere? Regardless, I bought this new camel colored coat a while back and wanted a scarf to go with it. However, I cannot provide you with a link because… well, because I have no idea where he got it as I assume lots of places sell Burberry knockoffs. (Without calling them Burberry, of course.)

Those pics are obviously the big ticket items I got. The rest was little stuff like a couple of outfits from American Eagle, some movies like Bridesmaids and the Scream series. I got a lot of E.L.F. makeup. It was a really nice Christmas. Evie’s haul was just ridiculous… For everything she got, she had to get rid of at LEAST one toy that she’s had for a while because there was just no way we could fit everything into our house. My mom got her a drum set.

YOU GUYS.

A six year old with a drum set is just so… unnecessary. Also: Loud, Obnoxious, Annoying.

My mom said, “But what if she has a talent, WHITNEY.”

To which I replied, “Well, good, then she can develop this ‘talent’ at YOUR house.”

And that, my friends, is how you get a kid’s drum set to live at your mom’s house.

Ok, now on to the whole resolution part of the post. Little late but I’m ok with that.

1) To lose weight: I know! Like Sarah said, “How cliché!” But no, seriously, 2012 has to be the year I get into shape. I’m seriously the biggest I have EVER been (not counting pregnancy) and I’m just so UNCOMFORTABLE. Michael’s on board with this so I think it’ll be easier with both of us trying. We’re picking up the treadmill his sister gave us this weekend. I’m excited about having a treadmill. I’m not excited about the fact that we don’t really have room for a treadmill, but that’s ok. We’ll make it work.

2) Continue being somewhat organized: Organization does NOT come easy to me. I’m a giant, disheveled mess most of the time. (Or that’s how I feel anyways.) I bought a planner this summer that has really helped me get way more organized than I’ve ever been.  I want to continue on this path. Plus, I’ve been trying to log my meals and with my planner’s “Morning, Day, and Night” sections on each day, it makes it easy.

3) Spend more time in church: (I know, I feel like I”m copying Sarah’s list too… Hush.) I don’t know why I ever balk on going to church. I always feel a thousand times better when I leave and I’ve really let this slip the past year. There’s no reason for this. My church offers one service on Saturday nights and THREE on Sunday morning. I have zero excuses. So, this year I really want to do better.

4) Write more: Either here or on Best Of The 80s, I want to start writing more. It’s what I love to do and it’s something that I feel like I’m somewhat good at. (This blog doesn’t necessarily count so much as I just throw random things at you over here as a way to just empty my brain.) Writing is what I WANT to do so there is absolutely no reason I shouldn’t constantly be doing it. I have the time, I have the desire… I just need to get to it! I’m currently looking into a couple of small writing gigs that will hopefully pan out. I’ll keep you updated.

Ok, so now it’s your turn, if you feel so inclined, to tell me what you got for Christmas, what your resolutions are, what you’re having for dinner. I don’t care. Totally up to you. Or just leave my comment section bare. I guess I’m ok with that too.

(Did that make you feel a little guilty about not leaving a comment? If not then I failed at my goal.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2012 1:38 pm

    I got an iPad for Christmas, but I bought it for myself (does that count?)
    John got me a small sewing machine, and it looks like it will be fun once I figure out how to thread the bobbin. He also got me polar tech running gear. We’ve never exchanged gifts before so guess what I got him? A $3 christmas ornament. I know. The guilt is horrible.

    Refer to my blog post for my New Year’s resolutions and my mediocre attempt at them.

    For dinner we are having nothing. I have no idea. Last night I made homemade meatballs, though, so that was ambitious.

    • January 5, 2012 2:05 pm

      Yes, it counts! And I’m jealous. I’m trying to talk Mike into getting one but it’s not looking good.

      I’m ok with your resolutions.

      Have leftover meatballs, dummy.

  2. January 6, 2012 9:53 am

    You got good stuff! I…focused on my son? The biggest thing was my husband getting a year of my blog put in a book. See? You want to hear about toy pianos and train sets and dump trucks. Not me.

  3. January 9, 2012 5:15 pm

    How sad it is that I am so backed up on my google reader that I Just now realized you had posted THREE TIMES this year! I am worthless. I know. But anyway, just wanted to say that I love your resolutions! We are in it together! And I didn’t put church back on my list, but in my head it stayed on so I am ALL ABOUT going together. Although I must tell you that we love the 10:10. They give free coffee and muffins! (I mean, I guess i should put money in the offering to pay for them, but you know what I mean). And they have little round tables! And it is the best.

    Also, the part with 100% Cashmere FEEL made me laugh REALLY hard.

  4. Britt permalink
    January 18, 2012 11:39 am

    What I got for Christmas: a tablet (which is funny because I don’t have the internet), new blinds, and a game for the Wii.

    That makes me feel like a kid. Yep. I got video games. So what?

Leave a Reply

