Skip to content

Another Glance Into My Life as a Nerd: Pottermore

September 28, 2011

So, yesterday morning, roughly around 1am, Evie woke up because of a nightmare. In order to get her back to sleep I curled up on the floor with the intentions of staying there until she was sound asleep and I could go back to bed. I had brought my phone in there with me just in case I, myself, fell asleep and couldn’t hear the alarm from my bedroom. She took a little longer than usual because the nightmare had really scared her so I casually skimmed through my emails and lo and behold… THERE WAS MY POTTERMORE INVITATION.

Now, if you are unaware of what Pottermore is I simultaneously feel sorry for you (anything with Harry Potter holds my heart…) AND envy you because, it is now obvious you have a much more interesting life than I do. But whatever… it’s Pottermore! And I’m in!

(If you have no interest in the world of Harry Potter, stop reading now… because the rest is going to bore you to tears.)

Yesterday, I immediately got to work and logged on. Then I promptly proceeded to enter my password incorrectly too many times and lock myself out for an hour.

I KNOW.

So, I decided maybe I should do some actual work while the world of Pottermore awaits and I could get in, get my wand, get my pet and most importantly find out that I was anything but a Slytherin. (You guys… After I went back to bed the night I got the email, I had a nightmare I was a Slytherin. In the dream I got PISSED and was all, “I will never log back into Pottermore AGAIN!” because most Slytherins are assholes. It’s a fact.)

Except, nothing JK Rowling ever does is simple so I had to go through about 6 different chapters before I got to do any of that… which I know sounds like I’m not a “true” fan but for the record, I went BACK and read everything. So, you know, THERE. Plus, it was alllll worth it.

(I was too excited to get a screenshot of my OWN page so you may think I'm lying... but I swear! I'm a Gryffindor!)

I had to answer a bunch of questions (and I answered honestly, naysayers!) and well, I’m apparently Gryffindor material.  Never mind that we are behind in house points… or that I’m terrible at brewing potions… I’m a Gryffindor.

Before you all pity me and my lack of coolness or the fact it appears that I’m not very grounded in reality, you all should know that I’m not alone. Sarah also got her Pottermore invitation yesterday. Unfortunately, we’re not in the same house though. (Although I’m not really sure what we would do differently if we were, but whatever…) She’s a Ravenclaw which I sort of knew she would be because she’s a smart kid. (I just looked at her site to get her link… she pretty much has an identical post up. See! I’m not alone in my nerdery!)

Anyways, basically what I’m saying? Productivity levels at work are gonna be at an all-time low for the next few days…

(At least I’m being honest!)

P.S. If you’re on there, find me! I’m WingSpell106. And NO, I didn’t make that name up. JK assigned it to me.

Holla!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 9:44 am

    Let me know when you learn spells! I need someone to duel with 🙂

  2. Whitney permalink
    September 28, 2011 9:45 am

    Want!! Now I have to wait til open registration I guess. Boo.

    • September 28, 2011 9:50 am

      I’m pretty sure it opens up sometime next month so not too much longer!

  3. Sarah permalink
    September 28, 2011 1:22 pm

    Ahhh hahaha, it cracks me up that we wrote identical posts! Of course we did. NERDS.

    PS. Ravenclaw Rocks

  4. September 30, 2011 3:36 pm

    I… I got my invitation too. I’ve sadly not yet made my way to the site, but I’m equally as excited/embarrassed about it!

    • September 30, 2011 3:46 pm

      Well then get with it, Megan! And then find me on there… because I only have like 2 friends on there and that’s just sad.

Leave a Reply

