Skip to content

Slumber Parties and Zombies Go Hand In Hand, Right?

September 12, 2011

Do you know what disappointment is? I’ll tell you. It’s when you think that the Bachelor Pad finale  is on Sunday night after an entire day of nothing but football ruling your tv screen and you’re settling in for your three hours of ridiculous actions and judging people for being stupid only to realize that no, you have to wait another 24 hours before you get to watch the finale. That is what disappointment is.

Not that that happened to me or anything.

I’m just sayin’ I bet that would suck.

This weekend Evie had her first slumber party of all time and if I could bottle that excitement and sell it, no one would ever need cocaine again. For the rest of time. Our house was overrun by five little girls ranging in age from 4 to 7. Do you know the decibel level little girls can reach? Because I was unaware and I’m just now taking the cotton balls out of my ears and they’re still ringing.

I got a tiny bit nervous last week whenever someone would ask me my weekend plans and the response was ALWAYS, “Heh, good luck getting them to sleep…” Was I under some sort of misunderstanding that small children DO need sleep? Is Evie weird because she DOES eventually go to sleep? Are everyone else’s kids insomniacs? Or worse, like the little girl from The Ring? (“She never sleeps! She never sleeps!”)

Maybe first sleepovers (which, it was a first for everyone who stayed)  are different. Maybe since they’re so wound up that they eventually have to crash. I don’t know but I didn’t have any issues. They were all huddled on the floor in Evie’s room in their sleeping bags, watching a movie, when I dozed off on the couch. I woke up about 45 minutes later at 11pm to Michael putting in another movie for them. This is where I like to imagine if my life were a movie, I’d be running in slow motion to jerk the dvd out of his hands because NO. They will NEVER go to sleep if you keep putting in movies!

But after that, it was smooth sailing and not a peep was heard from any of them until 7:30a. I’d like to go ahead and chalk this one up as a success. (I almost went ahead and chalked it up as a success the night before when all of them were dancing to 80s music in Evie’s room when I heard a shrill voice scream out, “Best! Sleepover! EVER!!!!!” but you know, counting the eggs before they hatch and all…)

Mike was faced with the harsh reality of slumber parties: Beauty Parlor.

While the girls entertained each other with the dance parties and whatnot, I slipped away to read my new book. You guys, I haven’t loved a book like this since The Hunger Games. In the past I’ve always gotten fairly lucky by not being right on top of whatever new book series kids were getting into these days. Like with Twilight (I KNOW. I hate it, but I couldn’t just stop in the middle!) and the Sookie Stackhouse series and even The Hunger Games I didn’t pick up the first book until the most current one was already lining the shelves.  This was handy because hey, I’m finished with this book so I’m going to run to the book store and grab the next one in the series and my life is fine and dandy! I don’t have to wait! Wheeee!

But THIS book:

Can't lie... I took the cover off because, well, because LOOK AT IT.

This book I bought the DAY it hit the shelves! I read it in a little over 24 hours (it’s 465 pages!) and am seriously considering reading it again because it is just that damn good.

It’s Young Adult.

It’s post-apocalyptic.

It has zombies.

I want this book to be my best friend. I even want the main character, Alex, to be my best friend with her awesome fire-red curls and green eyes. The gist? Alex has brain cancer, which sucks, so she takes off on a camping trip on some mountain completely by herself for days at a time. Her Aunt Hannah was none to pleased but well, the kid has brain cancer so you can’t really blame her for just wanting a little alone time. Anyways, while she’s gone on the mountain, all by her lonesome, the world goes completely insane because of some sort of ElectroMagnetic Pulse. People start dropping dead, the animals go crazy but then something else happens because some of the kids are turning into zombies. (Technically, they’re cannibals, I guess but I just like zombies better.)

Alex gets stuck with an 8 year old little girl to take care of but then she runs into Tom. Oh Tom… (SWOOOOOON.) Tom’s awesome and hot and just… just… I don’t want to give anything away so basically, what I’m saying is,  get this book ASAP and read it so I can ask someone questions.

Because I haz a lot of them.

(Except for Emily. You don’t need to read this book. You will probably scoff and feel superior, how you normally do when I tell you I’m reading some YA novel and loving it.)

Ladies and gentleman (Tim, I’m looking at you) that’s all for now. Don’t want to waste too much of my strength typing out this post when we all know I should save my finger cramping for tomorrow’s Bachelor Pad finale recap.

I’m out!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    September 12, 2011 1:19 pm

    Oh, how well you know me…..

  2. September 12, 2011 3:47 pm

    I hate you a little for telling me about an awesome book that the following books aren’t out for yet. Because you know I’m going to read it. And be tortured. Gah.

Leave a Reply

