Skip to content

Reeling Back in the Crazy.

September 8, 2011

Just a few minutes ago I saw THIS article in People. Go ahead and click it. I’ll wait.

Done?

Wait, what? You’re on a phone (probably Android) and it’s taking too long to load? Ok, fine sounds about right. Anyways, the article is about how Holly from Bachelor Pad (I KNOOOOOW):

is engaged to Blake (from Bachelor Pad.):

When I saw the link pop up in my Twitter feed I actually gasped out loud and said, “NOOOOOOOOO!!” prompting Karen to ask what the hell is wrong with me. (Well, Holly chose Blake over Michael. CLEARLY that’s what’s wrong with me. Plus a bunch of other things I’m getting ready to address in the next few paragraphs.)

Except, here’s the thing. This is just what I do. It’s like a sickness! Megan pointed it out to me yesterday in the comments. Sarah is the EXACT same way when it comes to certain things (*ahem… Harry Potter…) We just get too emotionally invested in things. And instead of being called a weirdo like most would describe me, (Christina. I’m looking at you.) I prefer the term “tenderhearted.”

I just can’t help but sympathize with some people and/or fictitious characters. (Now, don’t get me wrong. I don’t sympathize with EVERYONE over every little thing. In fact, I’d go as far to say that the majority of the human race annoys me. That includes babies and small children. (What? I’m just being honest.) But you get me in the middle of some, poor love triangle where nobody is really at fault? And there you go. The majority of the rest of the people in my REAL life will no longer have my complete attention until said love triangle is resolved or the show jumps the shark and I can no longer care for these characters. (This rarely happens. I’m committed.)

I would guess I’ve done this my entire life (I vaguely remember having a really odd attachment to Ferris Bueller as a 6 year old kid) but it really got bad during the Summer of Unemployment. I had just gotten married and I guess I didn’t feel like working at the time, I swear I don’t remember. It wasn’t like I was actively looking for a job so that’s my conclusion. Whitney, in 2003, just didn’t feel like working. Not the point.

The point is… this is right when TBS started replaying Dawson’s Creek, two episodes a day, five days a week. Started right at 9am… I remember thinking, I can handle 9am… So every day,  I watched Joey, The Original Fivehead, Jen, and my beloved… Pacey, for two hours a day. I can’t remember if I watched the entire series on TBS. I know at one point I ORDERD a set of home-recorded VHS tapes off eBay. Like someone set their VCR and recorded the show and then people bought them.. And when I got mine, they didn’t work! They were all fuzzy and I contacted the seller and she told me I was experiencing “Buyer’s Remorse.”

Uh… Lady, I don’t think you know what that means. Whatever. I ended up getting my money back.

Sweet boots, Joey. And seriously, how did they not know Andy was going to be crazy? Look at her!

But when it came time to the end of the series, I ordered the finale (on DVD this time) and watched it…and cried so hard I couldn’t catch my breath. THAT is how emotionally invested I was in this stupid show.

(If you haven’t seen it, get ready, because I’m about to spoil everything.)

When Jen dies, because of a heart condition that no one ever knew existed until the finale (convenient) and she films this video for her daughter (whom she had between the last episode and the finale) and OF COURSE Dawson films it and… and.. it was just too much. I was sad for days that Jen died.

That is not normal.

So after I successfully recovered from my depression over Jen dying and the realization that Pacey (who was the all-time best character to ever GRACE Dawson’s Creek because the rest of the characters sucked, except Andy. She went crazy and got drunk with Dawson that one time and Dawson face-dove into a cake or something. I don’t know. It was super awkward and well, it sort of cemented her into my heart forever, despite her brief stint in the mental hospital.) was not a real character and would never actually show up in my life and fall madly in love with me, even though my dreams predicted such an a turn of events, I got hit with Sarah saying, “Have you seen this new show called ‘The OC? It’s really good. You should watch it.”

How could Summer have resisted Seth for so long?!

And THERE WENT MY THURSDAY NIGHTS FOR THE NEXT FOUR YEARS.

You guys, this was before dvr, so I would make sure I was at home precisely in time to watch my new tv boyfriend, Seth Cohen deal with all the drama him, Ryan, Marissa and Summer got themselves into. I stuck this one out completely to the end. (I’m not a quitter.) Even after Marissa died a ridiculous death, and while, yes, I was completely aware that it was ridiculous, do you think that stopped me from sobbing as Ryan walked away carrying the love of his high school life as that car inexplicably exploded behind him? NO. No, it didn’t.

What about when Ryan turned to cage fighting to release the rage issues he built up from seeing Marissa die but not be able to save her? Do you think that turned me off?

NOPE.

It didn’t matter how stupid these people (characters, whatever) were being, my love was undying. I’m like the best friend they had no idea existed! When this series ended I really had NO idea what to do next because, what do you mean I don’t get to spend my hour with the Cohens next Thursday?! It was a sad, sad day in my household and when the finale ended, I put my head down in a pillow and cried. Like a baby.

Like I should be embarrassed.

So the other day, when I found this on Pinterest, my little heart skipped a beat because YES, THIS. Right here:

This is me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 4:48 pm

    This post made me laugh so hard. WHY do I love fictional people so much? At least we found each other to share the obsessions with.

  2. September 8, 2011 6:34 pm

    The end of Dawsons Creek was so difficult for me. I started watching it from the very first episode with Tom my freshman year of college. It remained our thing to do together. During our “time apart” he got all of his macho roommates hooked on it. I am proud to say I have the entire series on DVD. Heart.

  3. Emily permalink
    September 8, 2011 10:14 pm

    I have never seen tv dedication like you had with Dawson’s Creek. That was hardcore.

  4. September 9, 2011 2:33 am

    I completely understand what you are talking about. I have been watching Big Brother all summer (like usual), but it is different this year because we have Showtime this year, and they have a 3 hour live episode every night. And I am not working this because of my knee surgery, so I DVR it every night and watch during the day. And it is ending in a week. It is going to be so weird to not have those crazy people in my living room every day. It’s a good thing I am going back to work soon!

  5. September 9, 2011 9:40 am

    This is EXACTLY why I was in love with The OC for doing their finale like they did. Rushing forward in time and showing us glimpses of those character’s futures. *sigh* I miss the Cohens.

    I’m very much emotionally invested in my fictional TV characters. I was so devastated when Veronica Mars got cancelled, and I still wish I could go back and re-watch all of the Buffy’s as a newbie again. *sigh*

    • September 9, 2011 2:53 pm

      See? I would also qualify you as “tenderhearted.” It sounds so much better than crazy.

Leave a Reply

