Skip to content

Where Have I Been?

August 29, 2011

There’s nothing worse than a post where one apologizes for not blogging. So, I’m not going to do that. Instead, I’m just going to tell you, holy crap… I’ve been busy. Except for this weekend, where we actually did nothing. But still! I was busy doing nothing. Evie started tumbling last week (she pretty much hates it so far, but you know me, ‘once you commit, you cannot quit’ or something like that that a good parent would say… If we’re being honest, she just didn’t like it because she didn’t get it NOR does she have any upper arm strength which can make bridge-ups a bit tough but we’ve practiced! We will prevail!) And, did you guys know kindergarten has HOMEWORK? What is this?? They’re five! Once again though, to be honest (and we’re always honest in this corner of the internet, aren’t we?) I’m actually ok with it because I kind of LIKE helping her with the homework.

ANYWAYS.

You guys wanna know what else I’ve been doing?

This:

I cannot put this book down. And while, no, the main character, Beatrice (or “Tris” when she joins the cool crowd,) is no Katniss Everdeen, she sure makes me happy and realize that I actually kinda HATE the other series I’ve been reading. (The Jessica Darling series, in case you were interested. The only reason I insist on finishing the JD series is because I’m not a quitter… Also, I do want to see how it ends but it’s just so painstakingly wordy to get there. And Jessica, I am over your attitude. And Marcus Flutie? I am over your stupid cheekbones.)

However, Tris? Well, while we probably wouldn’t be friends because I’m more of the sit-on-the-sidelines-and-paint-my-nails-while-sipping-a-cocktail type and I feel like I would be in the Amity Faction, while Tris is just a badass. I admire her spunk. The book is set in Chicag0 sometime in the future and everyone is divided up in factions based on their personality. But! When the kids turn 16, they get to take this aptitude test and they can see what Faction they’re ultimately suited for. Then they get to choose to stay in their current faction or the one their best suited for. (Sometimes it’s the same.) Anyways, I don’t want to give anything away, except that the Amity people seem to be a fun-loving crowd so I choose them.

So it’s got a little bit of Hunger Games with all the tests these kids have to take to be “initiated” into their new faction and a little bit of… every other dystopian novel pretty much, where the population is separated based on personality traits. This is one of my favorite things because much like the Sorting Hat brought to us by JK Rowling herself, I TOO sort people based on their personalities. Sometimes I use the HP Guidelines… i.e. If you’re an asshole, you’re a Slytherin. If you’re a pansy, you’re a Hufflepuff, etc. Sometimes I use the HG Guidelines… i.e. Nikki Minaj would live in the Capitol. Fo’ sho.  So, any book that sorts people based on personality traits, I’m in!

So, there you have it… Where I’ve been and what I’ve been doing. Bet you guys are all totally going to get a good night’s sleep tonight knowing how I’ve been spending my time. Until next time…

Holla!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 11:41 am

    Huh, hadn’t heard of this one. Might have to try it. I’ve been working through Game of Thrones…which, gotta say? Not loving even though most people seem to. But I’m not a quitter. 😉

  2. September 2, 2011 1:43 pm

    I had been looking for a new book, so I tried this one – LOVED it. I love these kind of super natural/sci-fi/fantasy/quirky things. I’m thinking I would end up Candor, since I don’t mince words most of the time (even though I don’t like to argue).

Leave a Reply

