Skip to content

Princess Leia Has Cinnamon Buns On Her Head.

August 1, 2011

This weekend was spent going to birthday parties for both children and adults… Cookouts with delicious pork tenderloin grilled on a Salt Rock courtesy of the Nolls… and painting. I will be SO glad when we get the kitchen completely done and decorated and our floors replaced. It’ a process to say the least. However, today, I had to come in late because of an early morning doctor’s appointment (yay for my b00bs keeping their record of being cancer free!!) and I have to leave early because I have to get my tags renewed on my car. I live such an exciting life. You just wish you had the types of adventures I plan on having at the DMV!

So, today’s post is rambly and involves pictures of my little lady and her love for the Princess Leia look.

Completely entranced and chewing on her fingers. Picture of perfect manners!

Did you guys know that little boys still love Star Wars? I mean, *I* knew that but that’s because I’m around little boys in Evie’s class, my cousins have little boys, my friends have little boys and well, it’s just known. I just wanted to make sure YOU ALL knew that.  This is one of the main reasons I’m sad I don’t have a little boy. (Do not get me wrong. I LOVE having a girl. I would have had issues if I’d had a boy first because what? What do you mean you don’t want me to fix your hair?!) But the thought of having a little boy running around the house with a light saber and/or Spiderman web shooter? Well, it just makes me smile. Anyways. Sidetracked. As per yooj.

I want Evie to love Star Wars like I did when I was a kid but it’s hard. A) She’s a weenie. Darth’s voice alone will terrify her. B) She doesn’t have an older brother like I did who insisted on watching it 12 out of the 24 hours in a day every day. Finally, C) Did I mention she’s a weenie?

Anyways, this weekend at her friend Logan’s birthday party everything was Star Wars and this piqued her interest slightly because her goodie bag came with a ring for her to wear. Plus, it had some stickers in there and the entire way home she quizzed me on who was whom and whatnot.

“Who’s this?”

“Darth Vadar.”

“Is he a bad guy?”

“THE WORST.”

“Who’s this yellow guy?”

“He’s not yellow. He’s gold. His name is C3PO. He’d be your best friend.”

“Why?”

“Because he pretty much does whatever you tell him to.”

“Oh I like that.”

“I knew you would.”

“There’s a lady with cinnamon buns on her head!”

“She’s not just any lady, Evie. That’s Princess Leia.”

“There’s a princess in Star Wars???”

“Oh yeah! She was my favorite when I was little. Well, maybe she was after Chewbacca…”

And then I gave her this really long tutorial on how to perfect your Wookie call because I am the BOMB at it and yeah, laugh all you want but how many kids know the Wookie call? So, now when we’re at Disney World or some other giant amusement park and she gets lost, we won’t be the lame family doing the whole whistle-a-tune-to-find-each-other nonsense. We’ll be doing the Wookie call. It’s fool-proof! I bet no other kids will know to answer their mother with a Wookie call!

So, all of this rambling is leading me to one very simple thing: On Sunday, Evie wanted cinnamon buns on her head a la Princess Leia and I gave them to her. Granted, after a day of running around outside, they were looking a little disheveled but she didn’t care. Plus, we got a ton of compliments on them. We are big giant nerds and we love it.

Seriously.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 2:23 pm

    So I’m sure that watching Henry run around shooting 3 different types of guns at Evie must have made you want to take him home with you, huh? I didn’t know you have such a thing for boys and spider webs and whatnot.
    Also: I loved Star Wars as a child! And even thought I have TWO boys, neither one likes Star Wars. What are the chances? It is just not fair, I tell you!
    I’m going to work on converting Cate…
    Also, also: thanks for not mentioning food poisoning in your post. We appreciate you talking so nice about our pork tenderloin.

  2. August 1, 2011 3:10 pm

    I skipped school to go see the newer ones when they came out! Star Wars is wonderful! the hair is pretty awesome too.

  3. August 3, 2011 12:04 pm

    It was so great seeing you this weekend. I miss every one so much!

    Love Evie’s hair. Good job! I’m waiting patiently for Emma’s hair to grow so I can put it in piggy tails. This baby hair isn’t working for me.

    P.S. I’ve always hated Star Wars (I know I know…, I’m terrible) Does this mean we aren’t friends anymore?

Leave a Reply

