Skip to content

My Love For Mustaches: Based On A True Story

July 20, 2011

I have been a fan of mustaches since before it was cool to be an ironic fan of mustaches. I can remember as a kid, I would sneak into Jason’s room and steal Sgt. Slaughter from his G.I. Joe collection and slip him into my pocket because he was my favorite.

Why would I pick this guy? He seems like he yells a lot.

I also had a weird crush on Tom Selleck as a kid… I’m fairly sure I never had a clue what Magnum P.I. was really about but by God, I was a faithful watcher.

That man basically has a broom on his face.

I fear 6 Year Old Whitney (I know. I like talking about every year of my life as if I’m a different person.) may have had some psychological issues that were never addressed because honestly, the rest of my class? Looking at Teen Beat. Whitney? Watching Magnum PI. Teen Beat? Magnum. You weigh that out in your brain for a sec and get back to me.

Yesterday I realized that my love for the ‘stache has yet to wane. Want to know what spawned this realization? Megan over at Best of Fates and entirely too much time on my hands yesterday afternoon.

Also, sharpies, coffee stirrers, tape and copy paper. The last half hour of my work day I feverishly worked on a little project to take home to Evie because I didn’t want to just sit around and watch tv. Plus, Mike was slaving away in the kitchen on the cabinets and he usually entertains us… SO, it was just me, Evie and my creation.

Evie was skeptical at first. But then I informed her that you were not allowed to use your normal voice while sporting your mustache. You had to come up with a new voice.

A lot of times Evie felt that the addition of a mustache required her to stick her bottom lip out more. Who am I to say no? Mustaches do what mustaches gotta do.

The mustache… It is a fickle thing.

Mustaches also have trouble competing with Spongebob… Evie was trying to multitask by watching television and talking in her snooty mustache voice. *Sigh… Kids these days. I, on the other hand, look disturbingly like my brother should he ever decide to become the owner of a saloon. (Saloon job requirements: Old West Mustache. I’d be a shoo-in!)

Then Evie got bored and decided she’d rather be the one taking the picture. I was ok with it because I was still thoroughly amused by the ‘stache, regardless of my inability to actually keep it straight on my face.

I don’t care what you say. I know Magnum would be so proud.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 10:38 am

    I love that you made your own mustaches. I am surprised however that a photo of the fantastic finger mustache stickers did not make it into this post! Next time, please video yourself and Evie talking in your “snooty mustache voice”, I’d really like to hear it!

    • July 20, 2011 10:50 am

      And…if you’re wondering…this is the voice I imagine in my head that you all are using.

      • July 20, 2011 10:51 am

        Meredith! It is EXACTLY that voice! You’re a genius!

Leave a Reply

