Skip to content

Even My Boyfriend Knows I’m In Desperate Need Of Organizational Tools

July 13, 2011

We had Part One of my Family Birthday Celebration last night. (Why, yes, we do go overboard with birthdays. Why do you ask?) Mainly because my child is destined to be a party planner of some sort and insists that we have a party for everyone’s birthday. My party came equipped with Happy Birthday banners, giant Barbie balloons and Happy Birthday tablecloths, napkins, cups, plates, etc.

I got the VIP Customer treatment.

Since we’re doing Part Two of the Family Birthday Celebration in August (when we’ll celebrate my, Mike’s, my brother’s and my mom’s birthdays) I only opened a couple of presents last night. Behold my bounty…

I'm cursed with terrible lighting.

For the record, *I* don’t think it looks boring but to some you may scoff and go, “Yeah, so what? Your boyfriend bought you a box.” Or maybe you immediately knew it was a jewelry box. I’m not saying I didn’t know it was a jewelry box, I’m just saying… I don’t know. Let’s move on.

Am I killing you all with the Cross Process effect on my pictures? I can't stop. It's a problem.

Until now I have had all of my jewelry just randomly thrown in a drawer. Not like, neatly placed in a drawer… NO. Like I would take off my earrings and necklace and toss them into a drawer in my dresser. I spent a good 10% chunk of my morning every morning digging through my drawer, untangling necklaces, finding earring mates… And every morning Mike would just look at me and say, “Why don’t you just get a jewelry box?”

What about the randomly colored fonts? Does that bother anyone?

I just never thought, “Hey, I should go out and buy a jewelry box!” I’m not sure why. I mean, I thought things like, “Hey, that 5th shot of Patron is a great idea!” this weekend at my birthday party so why not think I should purchase a jewelry box?

Only one of those watches work...

It came with a tiny key in case I want to hide my most valuable jewelry. Or possibly Mike’s mp3 player when he’s not looking so I can plug it into my own car. It also has a handy little compartment in the lid! Who thinks of these things?!

Think of this as the level where you can make everything giant in Super Mario Bros. 3.

So now, when I want to put the finishing touches on my outfit for the day, I no longer have to untangle mangled knots of silver. No longer shall is scrounge through a drawer looking for a matching earring! Today I declare freedom. THIS is my Independence Day!

Except now… I still have this drawer…

*SIGH...

I suppose I’ll be able to get over my completely unorganized drawer of necklaces with a little help from the gift Brenda bestowed upon me.

Despite what you may see, it's NOT orange. It's very pink. Stupid lighting...

Good Ol’ Coach. I bet she’s been making birthdays better for years.

(Are you guys sick of birthday posts yet? I’m sorry.. Not really. But it was nice of me to pretend, wasn’t it?)

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 3:26 pm

    Nice gifts-Mike and Brenda did well this year!

    And you really do need some help with the lighting in your house….

Leave a Reply

