Skip to content

Loving. Hating: The Cosmetic Shiz Remix

June 14, 2011

Everyone highly values my opinion, correct? I thought so… All 6 of you who read this.  Anyways, since we’re leaving for the sugar sand beaches of Destin in a mere four days my brain is going in 8 million directions and I’m hopped up on beef jerky and Diet Dr. Pepper, I keep thinking about all the stuff I’m not allowed to take on the plane and will have to live a day without because Mike’s sister is carting our luggage down in her car the day before.  So we’ll do the loving/hating thing again. Wasn’t that fun for everyone last time? I KNEW IT.*

Loving:

1) So, I can’t technically say I 100% for sure love Birchbox because I have yet to receive my first box BUT I can just tell. It’s going to be true love. Who doesn’t like samples of makeup? And it’s cheap so you’re not shelling out a ton of money on makeup, hair products, moisturizers, etc that you’re unsure of. This is what I like to call a win/win. Then again, I don’t know who loves makeup as much as I do… Except for LC. She loves it because she’s the one who told me about it.

2) ELF Hypershine Lipgloss: I’m a lipgloss whore. I have a zillion kinds and 32 tubes at one time rolling around in my bag. My main issue with lipgloss is that it can be SO sticky. (Victoria’s Secret… I love the colors but cannot handle the texture. It’s like smearing honey on your lips.) I can’t stand when a strand of my hair gets caught in it and then I have that one greasy strand of hair that’s somewhat reminiscent of how some girls on the Maury Povich show would wear their hair in the 90s. (You knoooow, hair in a ponytail but with one slightly greasy strand hanging down in the front. Maybe it was supposed to constitute as a form of bangs. I don’t know.) ANYWAYS. ELF is super cheap and not that sticky. You can get it at Target, if you’re interested.

3) Hard Candy Sheer Envy Face Primer:  I forgot primer existed for a really long time. In fact, I didn’t remember it existed until I was on my makeup buying spree back in February and I saw Hard Candy’s section stuffed down in the very bottom corner of one aisle. I randomly decided to try it out and ended up loving it. It’s more of a serum-ish type texture and it glides on smoothly and gives a really good base for my foundation by filling in any pores and whatnot. The only thing you have to keep in mind is that a little goes a long way so be careful. If you use too much it can give your face a bit of a greasy feel.

4) Umberto Beverly Hills Curl Enhancing Lotion:  I was just talking about this stuff last weekend and I was actually a little frightened by the way my hair looked when I was done. BUT! It turns out, I learned how to tame the beast. Oh and friends, my hair is a beast. It’s super thick, wavy when it wants to be, lots of times more frizzy than anything and holy crap, there’s SO much of it. Before, I would use different types of mousse when I wanted to wear my hair curly and it just made it seem crispy. I’ve been looking for anything to help tame the frizz and define the waves but keep it soft and voila! This is it. I’m a huge, huge fan now.

Hating: (Hate’s a strong word but Loving and Disliking just doesn’t flow.)

1) Maybelline Eye Studio Eye Plush – Pink Persuasion:  I got all excited because I’m pretty neutral with my eyeshadow the majority of the time. I wanted something different from the typical browns and beige colors I’d been stuck wearing so I saw this and grabbed it. Wah wah wahwahhhhh. (That’s the Price is Right tuba, if you were unaware.) It stayed on my eyes for like five minutes before just melting. And that was with eye primer! So, I was disappointed. I will not be buying again. I’m still in the market for something with grays and blacks. However, I suck at doing the smokey eye. No matter how many tutorials I watch I still end up looking like a really confused goth kid.

2) Garnier Skin Renewal w/ Scrubber: I don’t hate the product itself really. I don’t even HATE the thing at all, I should say. I’m actually a big fan of Garnier products. I use a lot of their stuff but the packaging and the ergonomics (is that the word I’m looking for? Collin says yes.) of it just don’t flow. You have to hold the bottle up to get the gel out but you have to have it on your face as you do it or it squirts out onto the ground. Maybe I’m challenged and am doing it wrong? (It’s a possibility.) The other thing is I like to wash my eyelids too and the brush wasn’t designed for that so I’d have to sit the bottle down, squirt more into my hand and then clean off my eyelids. I don’t know. I just wasn’t a fan.

Ok, that’s it for now. I like WAY more stuff than I dislike so what does that say? Either a) I don’t know what I’m doing or b) I’m just really easy to please. Also, I’m poor so all of this stuff is either at Walmart, Target or whatever drug store you prefer to frequent. Until next time, kiddies.

*For the record, all of this stuff is just my very amateur opinion. I’m not a cosmetologist by any means. I mainly just watch a lot of YouTube makeup tutorials. So, with that being said, take my opinions with a grain of salt.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 5:15 pm

    Great minds think a like !!! Birchbox .. I ♥ of course. I’m completely addicted to all things E.L.F., especially their lip glosses … and I used the same Hard Candy Primer this morning while getting ready. Might have to try out your lose the frizz and tame the waves product 🙂 THAT is something I always need.

  2. June 14, 2011 6:29 pm

    Oh my gosh, how did I not know you were blogging again?! Also, I have tried face primer once and I felt like it made my face look too sparkly and not in a fun vampire sort of way. However, I think I need to try your rec cuz I have some big pores. Sigh.

    • June 14, 2011 6:41 pm

      Yay, Holly, you found me! I just randomly started back up a few months ago. And, primer should not make you sparkle, lol. Try that Hard Candy if you’re looking for a good base. I use it daily. 🙂

Leave a Reply

