Skip to content

Summer Reading Sounds So Nerdy…

June 10, 2011

But that’s exactly what this post is about! So embrace it, fellow readers. Embrace your inner (most likely outer as well) nerd (I’m kidding about that outer nerd comment) this summer. Or be like me and be a nerd all year long. It’s up to you, really.

Just this week did I gain access to what you people call a “library.” I have no idea why I haven’t been taking advantage of these things my entire life but if you’ll see with this post, I’m not that great at returning stuff. But now! I’m older! I’m more mature! I work right next door to the library! So, I promptly went right over and signed myself up for a card.

That's me thinking about all the things I could read about at the library WHILST showing off my new card.

I also may have gotten a little carried away with the stickers at Picnik. (If by carried away you mean AWESOME, then you are correct!)

Anyways. Because I now have access to free books and I no longer have to slave away at my 9-5er to pay for one measly book, I have the world at my fingertips! And that world mainly consists of Young Adult novels, for various reasons. (If you are also a fan of the YA novel variety, check out this site. Sarah discovered it and I’m in love with it.) All of those reasons are that I’m a dork but let’s not focus on that. Let’s focus on what I plan on reading at the beach in a week!

First up, we’ve got The Help.

Every time I see the cover I start singing, "Three little birds... Sat on a window!" This book is not about birds.

I’m apparently the last person on the planet to read this novel and I’m sad I waited this long but at least it’s before the movie comes out. I’m almost halfway through with this and I can’t put it down. If you’re unaware, it’s a story about maids in the 60s and their side of the story. It kind of sounds boring when I put it that way but it’s not! I swear.

Then we’ve got Gone by Michael Grant.

It's ok. Go ahead and judge the cover.

The longing looks into the distance! The hair blowing in the breeze! The overdramatic slogan at the top! It just screams, “I am for teenagers!!!” so of course I immediately picked it up. I actually just stumbled across it in the library and decided I needed to read it. Apparently, these kids hit a rough patch when everyone in the world over the age of 14 disappears. How will they live? Who will enforce the No One Under 17 Can See A Rated R Movie at the theaters?! I just don’t know. But never the less, I’m intrigued.

Next up is The Enemy by Charlie Higson.

Ominous skulls, eh?

My love for zombies immediately made me want to read this book. I’ll pretty much read anything about zombies but I don’t like a lot of it. What can I say? I’m picky about my zombies. This is another end-of-the-world-and-only-kids-are-surviving book.  (Sidenote: I developed this love in 6th grade when we had to read some book about how everyone over the age of 15 died from some mysterious disease and I was all, “Holy shit. I would die immediately because I am not one to survive in extreme conditions!” It was up to all these kids to save the world and for the LIFE OF ME I cannot remember what book it was. I want to read it again so if you know, help a sista out.)Anyways, all the adults? Yeah, just turning into zombies. NBD.

That zombie book up there? It has a sequel: The Dead.

.

So I guess it’s safe to say that at least SOME of the characters from The Enemy survive. But! Word on the street is that this Higson guy isn’t against killing off main characters at all. No one is safe! I obviously want to read this one as well because who just stops in the middle of a series? (Well, I did with Gossip Girl because oh my brain cells, it was stupid. I almost quit on Twilight too because I wanted to freaking set the last book on FIRE. My hatred for every character almost melted my brain but those are the only two. Promise.)

I have a couple more but I’ll save them for another post on a day when I can’t think of anything interesting to talk about.

Did you like how I went ahead and just assumed that you all thought THIS post was interesting? Just lie to me if you don’t think it is. But if you’re not a liar, then tell me what you’re reading this summer so I can steal your suggestions. Happy reading!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 3:44 pm

    The picture of you with the library card…

    The cover of ‘Gone’…

    Your love of zombie books…

    I loved everything about this post, my nerdy friend. Thanks for giving me credit for finding Forever Young Adults. Nothing could make me seem more awesome to your readers.

    I just realized I am reading my current book too fast and I thought I would be reading it on the couch on Monday and Tuesday, but there is NO WAY it will last that long. Sounds like a trip to the library is in order…

  2. June 10, 2011 4:54 pm

    Aw, man… I have to admit I’ve been on a YA kick. Mostly b/c I can’t read for more than about 5 minutes without the kiddo screaming for attention. So, I’ve read the Twilight series, working my way through Sookie Stackhouse (I believe b/c you mentioned it), simultaneously re-reading Good Omens, before that was the Hunger Games series…. Maybe one of these days I’ll get all academic again.

  3. Emily permalink
    June 11, 2011 11:49 pm

    For some reason your blog wasn’t coming up on my reader so I have a lot of catching up to do apparently. Who knew! Anyways, you are a nerd. Not because you love the library, but because of the books you chose to check out from the library.

Leave a Reply

