Skip to content

It’s Ok. You Can Call Me Weird.

May 27, 2011

It’s FRIDAY, people. It’s also the first day of summer break. This makes me a very happy lady. (Lady? What age group qualifies as “ladies?” I’m only 30… Lady sounds like a person who sews and knits and drinks tea in the afternoons… I don’t do any of those things but I’m not necessarily opposed to it.)

Anyways, we’re in the dead season at my work right now. Recruitment is over and the residents are graduating and I get a handy little couple months of working at a leisurely pace. Nothing overwhelming, nothing pressing… It’s nice. BUT it also leads to boredom sometimes. I can’t help it. I can only research so many articles or work on so many Excel sheets before my eyeballs want to pop out of my head and roll away. Earlier this week such a moment arrived and I got bored… Instead of surfing the internet, reading some blogs, I did this…

Now, I would love to take credit and make you all believe that I came up with this on my own, but I didn’t. I saw a picture on my friend Steven’s Twitter feed and thought, “Hey, I bet I can do that.” So then I spent the next 20 minutes drawing out a mugging on my forefinger and middle finger. Is this something normal people do? I feel like it’s not.

I got home that night; Mike was fixing dinner and he said, “Hey honey, what’d you do at work today?” I held up my hand.

He stared intently at my fingers for a good five seconds, looked up at me and goes, “You’re weird.”

It’s alright. I know. I embrace it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

