Skip to content

Life With Evie

April 27, 2011

I say, “Smile for the camera!”

I get this charming look instead.

I say, “Good morning, pretty! Time to get up for school.”

I hear, “But my legs are sooooo tired!!!” and I become involved in a 10 minute struggle to get her out of her bed.

I say, “Let’s go fix your hair.”

I hear, “I think I’ll just wear my hair like this today…” and I’m faced with a battle of wills as she insists that her hair doesn’t even need to be brushed. Meanwhile, she looks like she’s been standing in gale force winds.

I say, “Time to brush your teeth and get the bugs off.”

I hear, “I think I’ll just skip brushing them because I don’t like the toothpaste…” and I corner her in the bathroom and calmly tell her that the bugs will eat her teeth away if she doesn’t get them off this. Very. Instant.

I say, “Let’s get dressed for school” and I brace myself for the 15th obstinate response in my morning and considering I’ve only been up for maybe an hour I’m all out of patience and just want a cup of coffee and to NOT be argued with…

I hear, “Ok, but will you hold me first?”

And I do, because everyone knows you can only hold them for so long.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 2:25 pm

    so sweet! 🙂

  2. April 28, 2011 10:25 am

    Aw, so sweet. And so true. In honor of your post I played the game “Sorry!” with my kids last night. Because, you know, you can only beat them at board games for so long. (and for some reason my kids equate playing board games with love)

  3. Whitney permalink
    July 25, 2011 7:23 pm

    This just made me cry! You’re a good momma, Whit!

Leave a Reply

