Skip to content

That Time I Ruined Easter Dessert For Everyone…

April 25, 2011

Every year, my grandmother bakes a couple of cakes and expertly crafts them into the shape of a bunny. There’s coconut for fur, jelly beans for eyes, cute little bunny ears. It’s an Easter dinner staple in our family. Easter does not happen without it.

This year, it was even BETTER looking than past years. I feel like she really put in some serious effort to make this cake awesome. Unfortunately for me, and for you because you’re stuck reading this post, I didn’t get a picture of it. I didn’t because, well, I just didn’t think I needed to. I thought I would have more time…  It was just 1:30pm. No one had even finished their first plate of delicious food, let alone moved on to dessert yet!

The cake looked similar to this:

This is not my cake. In fact, I don't know who's cake that is but it looks similar to the one my grandma crafted yesterday.

My grandma made the mistake of putting the cake on the hutch behind the kitchen table and just as I shimmied past Mike’s chair, I heard a strange sliding sound and then SPLAT!

I froze. Surely that wasn’t…

Oh but it was. Bunny had been rudely pushed off his perch and landed square on his head. He no longer resembled a bunny that was enjoying life. No, this bunny was roadkill. My family stared at me in silence.

I had successfully just ruined Easter.

My grandma salvaged what she could but this guy was flattened, eyes were crooked, coconut fur was all a mess. A few people took a slice, scooped out his insides, with little regard for the magnificent creature he once was… I, on the other hand, left him alone and instead went for the delicious caramel cupcakes my mom made.

Just seemed like the right thing to do…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    April 25, 2011 11:25 am

    Now that’s a damn shame….it hurt me to read this.

  2. Jordan permalink
    April 25, 2011 2:14 pm

    Just think of the great story this will make for the Easters years down the road… Everyone will laugh, right??

Leave a Reply

