Skip to content

Weekend Happenings

April 18, 2011

If there’s anything this weekend taught me it’s… Well, it’s that I need to start doing a better job taking pictures (um… wait until you see the pictures I came up with for this post. Scraping the bottom of the barrel is an understatement.) with my phone or some sort of camera because I’ve gotten to the point where I’m all stubborn and don’t want to post unless I have corresponding pictures of my events. Which, after reading that sounds really conceited… Like I’m just assuming you guys WANT to see the evidence of what I get myself into on the weekends. And boy, let me tell you, this weekend was NUTS.

(I’m totally being a smartass.)

Emily and I decided that we HAD to go see “Scream 4” on Friday. Technically, it was me saying that we had to or I would die a slow and painful death because of my NEEEED to see it and her amicably agreeing that she would accompany me so that I didn’t seem like a big loser hanging out at the theater in the new Scream movie alone… So, that’s what we did.  And I showed up looking like this:

Also, why am I making that face? The world may never know.

I don’t just take random pictures of myself before going out. Mike didn’t believe that I was actually trying to conceal the majority of my head with a scarf. I’m pretty sure in his head, he pictured me wearing a turban and truthfully, if I could have fashioned a turban out of that scarf, I would have.

“Scream 4” was exactly what I expected. I have an unwavering love for the series so you can’t trust my judgment when I say that it’s really entertaining. In fact, I’m gonna say most people will disagree with me. What can I say? I love me some good 90s reminiscent horror.

Saturday, I got to sleep until 10:00 before Evie was dropped off. We spent the day indoors because it was FRIGID outside. We cleaned and got the house ready for all of Mike’s stuff.

My own personal Cinderella. Also: I am a fan of child labor.

We were pretty lazy the majority of the day until it was time to head out to church. Saturday night church is SO much easier. I may, in fact, be in love with it. Combine both mine and Evie’s morning attitudes and nobody’s in a good mood on the drive to church on Sunday morning so Saturday evenings work out perfectly. After church we had dinner with my cousin and her family and then headed to the grocery to stock up for the week. (After typing that line, I have now deemed this the most boring post ever. Feel free to close out now.)

Sunday was nice enough to get outside and Mom picked Evie up to play at her house while Mike and I ran a few errands and fixed a few things around the house. My mailman, who has hated me for many, many weeks now, can now rest easy when he feasts his eyes on the brand new mailbox we installed yesterday. (LOOK. Something happened to my mailbox where it just wouldn’t…I don’t know… stand up anymore. It may have taken me a while to get around to fixing it… BUT! I get most of my mail electronically. He shouldn’t be mad at me. He should be mad at the creators of junk mail. It’s really all their fault.) Anyways, mailbox fixed, Taco Sunday, bedtime stories and Sister Wives. Not a bad weekend, in my opinion.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 2:26 pm

    You’ve secretly been watching Sister Wives?! A show that you would definitely make fun of me for watching?! We could have been having discussions, you know…

    • April 18, 2011 2:35 pm

      I would not make fun of you for watching that show! I watch it when I remember that it’s on!

  2. April 18, 2011 2:30 pm

    I love me some Sister Wives…it is shameful but I am addicted.

    • April 18, 2011 2:34 pm

      I only watch it when I catch it but I can easily see myself becoming addicted. I just think the main guy is so gross! And the women, well I just think they’re idiots.

  3. April 18, 2011 2:38 pm

    I really like how you are basically telling us that Scream is awful, but you still liked it. At least you are honest!

    Also, thank GOD you told us you went to the grocery. I would have spent the entire week wondering what you and your child ate… then would have had no choice but to assume nothing, and then call child services on you.

Leave a Reply

