Skip to content

In Which I Ask For Your Help In Choosing A Dress

April 7, 2011

Mike and I have a friend who’s getting married this weekend. Normally, I’d be super excited because a) weddings are always fun (well, the reception part is, typically) and b) it’s a cause for a new outfit! Hooray! But then I sat down and thought about it… and I really can’t justify buying an entire new outfit right now. There’s 8 million (I counted) other things that need my attention right now that are much more important than me looking all sassy at a wedding this weekend.

So, I decided to work with what I had. Turns out, I apparently only buy dresses in black, white or a nice black/white combo. *Sigh… As much as I’d like to look springy for the wedding, it’s just not in the cards. This is where you come in. I need help choosing the right (right = boring) dress for me to wear to the wedding. It’s an evening wedding at the Marriott and it’s supposed to be warm this weekend. Ok, here we go:

My face is blurred out in all of these because I was just doing this really random and weird face in EVERY. SINGLE. PICTURE. This is dress numero uno. I like it but does it sorta make me look like a linebacker? Annnd it’s a little short. Not terrible at all. Not like it’s inappropriate but if a draft caught me in the wrong way, um, hello, my name’s Whitney and these are my delicates.

This is lovely number two. I actually really like this dress and I’d be wearing a pashmina or a sweater over it, but it is SERIOUSLY low-cut. Is that inappropriate? Are my ladies hanging out too much? I kinda hate that it’s boring old black but I feel like I could make it work. Maybe jazz it up with some lovely jewels.

Dress number three, as evident by the three fingers I’m holding up. (I sent these to Mike first in case you were wondering why I even have these pictures. No, I was not taking these specifically for this post but hey! I now can get the opinions of the masses.) This one’s a bit longer, a bit more casual it seems. And I know it looks like it’s all fitted around my waist and then kinda billows out but it doesn’t really.  Anyways, there they are. Lovely. I would really appreciate any comments, but don’t tell me they’re all ugly. I might cry.

In case that’s what you were going to say, let me distract you with this:

This smiling face accompanied me to work this morning for a little bit. Her dad picked her up and now she’s probably munching on some pancakes at Cracker Barrel (their destination.) If you can’t tell, she’s super excited about the sunshine.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 10:06 am

    My vote is for #2… since when did low cut bother you? Bahaha. But really, it seems the least low cut of all of them actually. #3 is my second choice. Also, you have plenty of other dresses that are not black.. I know, I’ve seen.

    • April 7, 2011 10:07 am

      Emily… Low cut is fine when we go out! Not when I’m supposed to look somewhat respectable and not like a floozy!

      Also, if I have other dresses in colors I would like for you to show them to me…because they have disappeared from my closet.

  2. April 7, 2011 10:46 am

    I think #3 is my first choice, #2 my second. From what I remember, I don’t think the second one is too inappropriate to wear to a wedding. But I like how the third one looks all around…definitely my top pick.

    And Emily is right…you have other colors. Coral dress from last fall’s meet, yellow and brown dress, etc.

  3. April 7, 2011 2:34 pm

    I vote #2. I sorta prefer solid color dresses at a wedding. No real reason. Just a fact. The fact that you will be seeing me in a patterned dress at a wedding next month means nothing except I have a very limited dress selection at the moment.

  4. April 8, 2011 11:12 am

    I love two and three for different reasons. Two is fun and flirty (for the reception) and three is nice for the ceremony. Who says guests can’t do a wardrobe change 🙂

Leave a Reply

