Skip to content

Painted Piggies – The First Real Sign of Spring

April 4, 2011

It would appear that after this post where I raved and raved about the awesome weather, I jinxed the entire state of Kentucky. Directly after I published that post, temps plunged into the THIRTIES. Did you read that? THE THIRTIES. Miserable.

It’s around this time of year that I start to revolt against my winter wardrobe. I cringe at the thought of putting on a heavy coat, my comfortable boots suddenly start rubbing blisters on my feet, sweaters become even itchier. But thankfully, we’re back to normal for at least a week it seems. Highs in the sixties and seventies.

So, today, I deemed it reasonable to wear sandals. My feet, however, weren’t in the best shape so that called for an emergency pedicure yesterday. Evie agreed. Yesterday afternoon we slipped off to the nail salon and had an hour or two of pampering. This is easily one of Evie’s favorite things to do. (Let’s be honest, it’s one of everyone’s favorite things to do.) The ladies there love her and always paint flowers or polka dots on her nails.

(Yes, she has an Us Weekly in her lap. Only the best literature for my five year old!) She is SUCH a girl and it makes me smile. My life is filled with nothing but pink, purple, tutus and princesses. After she got her feet done (flowers on the toes) they painted her nails, pink with white polka dots. She had no idea that the lady doing her nails spoke very little English and was just chattering away, never noticing that the person she was talking to never responded with anything but a smile.

So let’s forget about blooming Crocuses and buds on trees. Everyone knows that the first real sign of spring is freshly painted piggies.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 12:30 pm

    I love pedicures! Must go get one now. I’m in desperate need of one. I cant wait until Emma is old enough to get them done with me.

Leave a Reply

