Skip to content

Weekend of Awesome v. 2.0

March 22, 2011

Once upon a time, back in 2007, Meredith and I had what we called our “Weekend of Awesome.” It involved things like Keeneland and Kings Island and UK playing South Carolina and well, it lived up to its name. It was awesome. This past weekend was aptly dubbed Weekend of Awesome v. 2.0 (in case you skipped the title) but unfortunately didn’t involve Meredith because she was off doing fun bridesmaid type things at a bachelorette party in Chicago. I missed her but still.. WoA v. 2.0 was pretty spectactular.

I ducked out of work a couple hours early on Thursday to celebrate both the UK game and St. Paddy’s Day at Shamrock’s. I really feel like if people got out of work at 3:00p every day and went directly to Shamrock’s the world would be a better place. When I got there it was insanely packed. Like one-in-one-out packed. AT SHAMROCK’S. It didn’t hurt that the weather was fantastic and the Cats won so everyone was in a great mood.

After the game we all headed downtown to meet up with Emmopops, Jenny, and about half a million other people. We wandered around down there until about 9:00p and then called it a night. (I realize this sounds early and that we’re lame and old. Well, we kind of are… Also, we’d been out since 3:00p! That’s a long day of green beer…)

Friday was our super lazy day off except it wasn’t all that lazy because Mike and I ended up having to run about 63 errands and got to lay on the couch a total of about 45 minutes. But it was ok. It was better than work. We went to see Battle: Los Angeles with my parents that night and while Mike liked it, I felt like I was watching a two-hour recruitment ad for the marines. Also, the aliens just seemed kind of dumb. They’re tactics were really ineffective. And yes, I do realize I just judged some fictional aliens.

Saturday was my friend Susan’s birthday and several people headed out to celebrate at Malone’s. Food was delicious, drinks were cold, laughter was in abundance, you know, typical good times. Enjoy some pictures Em took from that night. Because let’s be honest, who DOESN’T like looking at pictures of people you don’t know sitting in posed pictures?

Emmopops and her lovely husband, Jon (or Stu, as I refer to him 100% of the time)

John and Val in an odd retro-looking photo although it was taken with a digital camera.

I would just like to point out for the first time in my life, I am not the proud owner of Giant Head in this picture. That honor goes to Em thanks to a little camera trickery on my part.

The beautiful birthday girl, Susan, and the man responsible for her surprise party, Allen, her husband.

Mike and I enjoying a little patio sitting. (Thank GOD Spring has finally arrived.)

You guys already know how my Sunday went. If not, scroll down a post. Other than the small trip to the ER it was a pretty freakin’ fantastic weekend. I blame fun friends and ridiculously awesome weather.

(If you cannot tell, I am ECSTATIC about warm weather. I don’t know if me mentioning it 45 times in the post really clued you in.)

Hope everyone’s weekend was as fun as mine!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 11:45 am

    I can’t believe I fell for your trick! Pea head shall return!!

Leave a Reply

