Skip to content

Little blue, little green…

March 17, 2011

Once upon a time, my friend Becky and I were discussing tailgating and she mentioned how she’d just like to tailgate and not feel the pressure to attend any sporting event. I agreed. (Don’t get me wrong, I love my Cats, but unless I have awesome seats I much prefer to watch the games on television.) Becky suggested that we just start having random tailgates. Tell everyone to wear a specific color and then just show up at a parking lot at the same time with coolers of beer and snacks.

I think this sounds perfectly reasonable.

Alas, we can’t seem to really get anyone on board with the random tailgates so today, St. Paddy’s Day will have to do. Everyone’s sporting their green, drinking delicious green beer, doing whatever Irish folk do… After work I’ll be heading downtown with Mike and some friends to partake in the drinking of green beer. I’m expecting it to be ridiculously packed but it should still be a good time.

Tomorrow I have the day off so I’m guessing the majority of my day will be filled with basketball and laziness. Sounds excellent to me. In reality, since it’s supposed to be in the 70s and sunny tomorrow I’ll feel too guilty to be lazy so I’ll force myself out into the sunshine. It’s a hard life.

And speaking of basketball (we were, weren’t we? I mean, I mentioned basketball and the only basketball that matters is UK,) we* play at 2:45pm today and I’m actually this close to taking off at 3:00 to go watch it somewhere. I know we’ll have it on here at work but we won’t have beer. Or an overload of what I consider fun people so… Yeah, I’m probably just gonna take off.

As with most girls in the bluegrass (I’m guessing? Maybe it’s just me?) there was a dilemma on which color to actually wear today. Do we go with green for St. Patrick’s Day or do we sport the blue in honor of the Cats? I decided I would wear blue to work for the first part of the day and then change into something green right before I head out. Smart girl I am…

(Why did I just talk like Yoda?)

Anyways, I hope your day is filled with lots of luck. Eat a bowl of Lucky Charms, drink some green beer, but most importantly, root for the Cats.

*I consider myself an integral part of UK’s team.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 9:33 am

    I had the blue/green dilemma in my head as well. I went with green since I already have blue…. in my blood. Hardy har har.

  2. March 17, 2011 10:25 am

    I am entirely shamed. I am Irish. I went to tOSU and Notre Dame…and I’m wearing blue today. GAH

    • March 17, 2011 11:03 am

      Well, don’t be TOO ashamed. I mean, you’re wearing blue and technically that can be considered as your way of rooting for Kentucky. 🙂

Leave a Reply

