Skip to content

End Of My Rope

February 22, 2011

See that face? That adorable little girl is why I am just ready to lay down on my desk and wave a white flag because I have reached the very end of my thin and fraying rope. You see, that child does not want to sleep in her own bed. Like ever.

I know, I know. You’re all saying, “You’re just going to have to nip it in the bud. Put her in her bed and every time she gets up, march her right back down the hall and back into her bed.”

Oh you hilarious, hilarious people.

I can’t really blame the kid since it’s totally my fault for letting her sleep in my bed with me since she was born. (Quit it with all the judging.) It was the first time I’d ever lived alone and I dunno… KIDNAPPERS. The point is, she’s five and I feel like now is as just as good of a time as any for her to move into her own bed. This weekend Mike and I went to work painting her room, putting together her new awesome loft bed, rearranging stuff, letting her stick wall decals up on the wall so it would give her some sense of ownership. The room is awesome. So awesome in fact that I even thought about saying, “Hey, I’ll sleep in here and you just sleep in Mommy’s bed” but I didn’t feel as though that was the correct route a parent should take.

Yesterday during the day she was so excited about sleeping in her room but the second it got dark outside the whining started,

“I don’t wanna sleep in my bed…”

“I think I’ll just sleep in your bed tonight, Momma…”

“I think I’ll just fall asleep on the couch…”

She’s a tricky one. Last night, after a ginormous meltdown, I just informed her that there were going to be no negotiations and she just HAD to sleep in her own bed. She fell asleep 30 seconds after her head hit the pillow. Of course, that involved me staying in the room with her, until she fell asleep but I don’t think that’s unreasonable.

It didn’t last though and she was up at least five times before 1:00am and finally I just gave up and let her crawl into bed with me because I had to be up in 4 hours and holy crap, I just do not operate well on 4 hours of sleep. Seriously, being tired is a form of torture for me. Ask Emily. Most weeknights I’m asleep by 9:30pm so I can get those coveted 8 hours of sleep…

It makes matters even worse that I’m SO irritable when I’m tired that I found myself snapping at Evie last night even though the whole freakin’ situation is my fault to begin with. This morning as she was getting ready to go into school she put her arms around my neck and said, “You’re the best momma in the world! AND the prettiest!”

I promptly burst into tears after she went inside because ohhhh the guilt.

So, internets, here is where I need some sort of assistance. (And no, don’t give me advice on what I should do. If I hear one more person say, “You’re just gonna have to let her cry it out.” I may throw something…at your head. I feel like this is one of those things where each situation varies depending on the child) What I’m asking is if you know of any really good books that would help Evie be more excited about sleeping in her own bed. I’m going to look into buying some this week in hopes that we can make at least a small amount of improvement because for the love of all things holy… Momma needs some serious shut-eye.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lexbianne permalink
    February 22, 2011 7:24 pm

    No advice re: books, just sympathy. I went through this with my eldest. It was horrible, absolutely horrible. But she grew out of it around the time she started school, if I recall correctly. School and a redoubled effort on my part to “get tough” seemed to do the trick but I wasn’t always consistent and gave in on numerous occasions. Doubt that helps you any, just wanted you to know, as the cliche goes, that this too will pass.

  2. February 22, 2011 7:38 pm

    And I seriously cannot WAIT for it to pass because this right here? It’s torture. Blah.

  3. February 22, 2011 9:56 pm

    And she looks so innocent in that picture….

Leave a Reply

